“I Am The Resurrection and The Life”

John 11:25  Jesus told her, “I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me, even though they may die like everyone else, will live again.”

John 14:6 Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through Me.”

During my first year at Reinhardt College, I worked 80 plus hours a week, and was studying in a pre-med degree curriculum. Because it was a private Christian college, I had the opportunity to observe new people in my life who walked great examples of faith filled lives, I would often question, “Who is this Jesus that these people in my life speak of so lovingly and reverently? Who is this Jesus, that no matter their circumstances, they seem to trust and use as a life guide ever steady faithful to the course, even when they couldn’t “see” Him?”

Being the scientist and realist that I am and having had adults in my young life who proved so untrustworthy, there were many difficult questions rumbling around in my head and my heart, but yet a tugging at my heart that I simply could not ignore. I was a self-sufficient, hardworking, and very responsible young lady who helped others. Why did I need an “unseen” Jesus? I had read the Bible growing up; however, I read it more as a literature book, analyzing characters and stor y/plot lines and literary elements. But during this period of time in college, I began to read the Bible seeking answers to real and often difficult questions that life had handed me down through the years, and to attend church and Bible studies regularly to learn more about these things. John 14:6 and John 11:25 were verses I heard and read often, but I had difficulty with personally relating to them.

I remember begging God to “show” me what this was all about, but you have to be careful what you ask for sometimes! I had begun attending church regularly for the first time in my life, and sacrificing one day of income for Sunday church worship and related activities. I was beyond dirt poor and missing four days a month of income could’ve been disastrous to my living needs and educational goals at that time, but due to my faithfulness and God’s “eye” for my other needs at this time, I never missed the money once! What a mighty God we serve!

As the Holy Spirit interceded on my behalf through my prayers, Scripture reading, worship experiences, and other God-wing-touches, the Scripture began to come to life. I continued to pray diligently to fully trust and invite Christ into my heart. Reading Romans 12:3, “For I say, through the grace given unto me,….God hath dealt to every man the measure of faith.” Reading this humbled my “tough” spirit, and I realized that in Christ Jesus I could have that measure of faith and that my own self-sufficiency was nothing compared to what Christ Jesus could give me if I learned to depend on Him and that awesome resurrecting power and Holy Spirit Christ gave after His crucifixion on the cross. A short time later, I accepted Christ into my heart at an old-fashioned altar.

That was in 1986. I still vividly remember the day and testimony I have from accepting Christ. Life has its ups and downs for all of us, but never, since that day, have I ever doubted my salvation, God as my Heavenly Father, Christ as my Savior, the power of the Holy Spirit, or the power of resurrection in multiple ways each provides for our lives. My God is strong enough to handle all we bring to Him, even our questions, and to provide means by which to guide our lives, to show others Christ’s love, and to serve Him with multiple opportunities. Believing in the resurrecting power of Christ gives great meaning to Christ’s words, “I am the way, the truth, and the life.”

The Bible is no longer just a literature book, but the living word of God that is an active part in touching and changing hearts and lives, and Christ and God are no longer just “imaginary characters” someone made up, but instead are personal entities who love all of us sacrificially beyond what words can describe. The Resurrection story started with Christ’s ultimate sacrifice on the cross, and God raising Him from the dead after three days, but the rest of the resurrection story lived in a life through Christ Jesus has the ability to continue in our hearts and lives in life-changing ways every day!

Gracious God, thank you for your resurrecting power through Jesus Christ. Thank you, because of His dying on the cross and being resurrected and the power of the Holy Spirit given, we may find “the way, the truth, and the life” in a world that can often be confusing. Thank you for your amazing grace in forgiving us and loving us. Thank you for the power of the Trinity, the Scripture, prayer times, and worship experiences. May we always seek to follow you with sincere hearts and to embrace the many opportunities you provide to witness and to serve you here on Earth. Thank you, also, for providing Heaven as our home when we have finished our journey.

Leave a Reply

