Jesus said: “I am the bread of life, whoever comes to me will never go hungry…” John 6:35

This is one of the “hard sayings” of Jesus along with “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John14:16) and others stating that He was the Messiah! These are the matters we must consider have the deepest meanings to our lives and prove that Jesus was who he said he was, or as C.S. Lewis writes “ he would be a lunatic- on the level with a man who says he is a poached egg”.

Of course Jesus knew that bread and water were the staples of life for the people he was addressing in these scriptures. But, once again, his words were carrying a deeper meaning. He was not talking about the bread they baked daily or the delicious, huge biscuits we can buy in all shapes and sizes, but about True Bread that, sustains the True Life abundant, He came to give. (Another saying of Jesus.)

In my life situation right now, I am experiencing That Bread, That Life, in a special way as I feel God’s Grace being given to me through the prayers of many people. I am feeling each day the infusion of the Bread available to us because of Jesus.

This makes me remember hearing a report (not from internet) of a survey asking people the 3 things they would like to hear others say to them. The sayings were: I Love you. You are Forgiven. Supper’s Ready. You know. this is what is said to us at the Communion Table each time we come to celebrate Jesus’ giving of the True Bread. Maybe we ought to do this more often.

Prayer: Lord I am ever grateful for the fact that you provide the life sustaining Bread for or lives every day through your Son and your Spirit. I know it is by Your Grace this is possible. We merit nothing on our own efforts. We need to explore these deeper meanings of Your Word to be what we should be. All Praise and Glory and Honor belongs to You my God!

Leave a Reply

