I am the gate.   Those who come in through me will be saved.  They will come and go freely and will find good pastures.  The thief’s purpose is to steal and kill and destroy.  My purpose is to give them a rich and satisfying life.  I am the good shepherd .  The good shepherd sacrifices his life for the sheep.  John 10: 9-11.

Jesus was talking with the Pharisees after He had healed a blind man , not only of his physical blindness but, also, of his spiritual blindness.  As Jesus continued teaching and answering the Pharisees’ questions they began to see that He thought they had spiritual blindness (stubbornness and stupidity).  They did not see that Jesus is the True Messiah, the gate to eternal life.

 
As I read these verses I wonder, how do they speak to me?  I am a believer.  I do not think I am  like the Pharisees. Then I remembered a Sunday when as a part of the pastor’s  sermon he challenged each person in the congregation to bring one person to Christ.  I suddenly understood.  As I witness to a nonbeliever I can be the gate to Jesus and He will be the gate to God’s salvation, the access to safety, security and Eternal Life.

Dear God, thank you for opening the door to us to come in. Help us today  to allow You to work through us to bring others into Your fold. Amen.

Leave a Reply

