What does it mean when we say or hear someone say “I’m born again” or “I’m a born-again Christian.” How can we be born a second time?
In the John 3:1-17, Nicodemus, a Pharisee, came to Jesus one night and asked him about this law of salvation. Jesus replied “unless a person is born from above, he cannot see the kingdom of God”; “unless a person is born of water and spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God”: ” what is born of the flesh is flesh, and what is born of the spirit is spirit”. 

Our “first birth” (physical birth) is the “water birth” (not baptism). We are all born sinners (from the inherited sin of Adam) and must be cleansed spiritually from above in our “second birth” which allows the Spirit of God to come and dwell in us. God and His Spirit cannot live in an unclean vessel. We are saved (born-again) by our faith in God’s son, Jesus Christ, and then it’s grace from God that allows our spiritual cleansing and salvation , with immediate indwelling of His Holy Spirit in us. Being “born again” is very simple and free for all. It is a gift from God because of his extreme love for us. We “recognize” Jesus as the Son of God, “repent” of our sinfulness and unworthiness, and “receive” the best gift imaginable.

I cannot recall my exact age of salvation (I know I was an early teen) but I do recollect a tremendous feeling of thankfulness and peacefulness come over me. I remember vividly sitting in First Baptist Church, Hartwell, Georgia, at the time thinking that irrespective of what happens in life, “it’s all okay because my eternity is sealed” by His flesh and blood shed for me. What a joyous moment!

With the year 2010 and an illness of my father, I recall a tremendous “awakening” of my spirit in Him. His Spirit never left me from the time of my re-birth but I had allowed life’s chaos and distractions (what I call the “rat race” of life) to dampen his voice. I had forgotten all too often to “be still and know” that He is God. During that painful time I immediately returned to His truths and the knowledge that I had no inherent strength apart from Him. I knew He was always with me and would give me the strength needed to face the future with my Pop. As a matter of fact, I received from Him during that time a renewed appreciation of what this life is truly about —the saving of other’s souls and a strength of actually talking about God and salvation with others along my journey.

Leave a Reply

