Thursday, March 9
Spiritual Questions: Whose are We? Matthew 4:1-11
Margaret ‘Mugsy’ Thornton

“You’re not the boss of me!!” I remember hearing and saying those words as a child, in the midst of typical squabbles among groups of playmates. And maybe you too, recall that there was always at least one super-bossy kid around who thought it her place to be in charge. In that situation, the usual response was voicing a rebellion against that “boss”. ( For sure, though I may have said those words to a peer, I knew better than to say them to my mother, because I was carefully taught that yes, she was!)

So, the question, “Whose am I?” begs an answer. If we buy into the prevailing worldview of our “all about me” culture, then the answer, obviously, is “I’m the boss of ME!” On the other hand, if in the spirit I know that I am in need of salvation and I cry out to my Father God to deliver me from SELF, He has provided redemption through the Son, and I become reconciled to the Father. Paul reminds me, in Romans 5:1, “Therefore, having been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.”

The reconciliation provides that “peace with God”, but it also points out that to maintain that peace, I must relinquish my control over self to Him! In I Corinthians 6:19-20, Paul issues a profound reminder: “Or do you not know that your body is the TEMPLE of the HOLY SPIRIT, who is IN YOU and whom you have from God, and you are NOT your own. For you were BOUGHT at a price, therefore glorify God in your body AND in your spirit, which are GOD’S. Couldn’t be much plainer than that, could it?

We have all encountered a strong-willed child, somewhere, sometime. We might have been one of those! And in adults, self-included, too often I see the attitude of “my way or the highway”. So I am developing the habit of repeating the Lord’s Prayer as often as needed to remind me, “Our Father, Who art in heaven, HALLOWED be THY name. Thy kingdom come, THY will be done, on earth as it is in heaven.” And another observation: YOU are the POTTER, I am the clay. And last, when it comes to clashing my will against His, I remember that someone famously said, “Yo’ arms too short to box with GOD!” I really don’t want to do that, but rather I want to embrace the truth that I AM HIS, AND HE IS MINE.

Leave a Reply

