Wednesday, March 8
Spiritual Questions: Whose are We?
Lisa Archer

Ed and I have recent experience watching our children take their first steps into the world as adults. Katie went first leaving to live on campus at Kennesaw State University at 18 and then getting married at 20. Ryan followed in her footsteps also living on campus at KSU and getting married at 22. Zack has taken a slightly different first step that has taken him farther away to live on campus at Georgia Southern. I miss the closeness of family living under one roof and worry and even fear for them at times.

However, I find that solace comes from two things. We always parented with the belief that our job was to raise adults, so we were always preparing them. We also brought them up to seek and know the Lord. Because we were blessed to witness them growing into and living out their faith, we came to know them not only as our children but as our brothers and sister in Christ. They know us in that way as well.

When I re-read the passage in Matthew 4:1-8, I pictured Jesus with a bit of a smirk on His face as He responded to the temptations and lies the devil laid before Him. I can picture Him chuckling at the efforts to convince Him to turn His back on what He knew to be true, to forget Whose He was.

Jesus had the unique perspective of knowing all of God’s promises. He knew the promise we read in Jeremiah 30:22, “You will be my people, and I will be your God.” He knew the promise in Revelation 21:3, “And I heard a loud voice from the throne, saying, “Behold, the tabernacle of God is among men, and He will dwell among them, and they shall be His people, and God Himself will be among them.” He knew Whose He was. The devil’s attempts at convincing Him otherwise were laughable.

As we navigate through this world, face temptations, hear lies, let’s face them knowing the same promises Jesus did. Let’s face them with the firm assurance of knowing Whose we are. Let’s go farther than that. Let’s live every day looking for opportunities to invite others to be our brothers and sisters, to share in the promises, to be part of the family.

As a mom with a newly empty nest, I remind myself often that God has this. When I start to worry or to let fear creep into my heart, I am going to remember that smirk I imagined on Jesus’s face that told the devil that he had no power here. It said, “I am His and He is mine.” I am going to remember that I have a big strong family, a growing family, a family led and loved by God Himself.

Leave a Reply

